I Am A Sanctimonious Purist: Obama Says


I must say, he does have a way at hurling names towards the Progressives that helped him win.  Every chance he gets, he bitch slaps the lot of them.  I say them, cause I was and am a Roosevelt Democrat, I am not a Progressive  and Liberals, by their history are way too attached to the free market mythology.   These days, being a Roosevelt Democrat, you are a lefty.  Yes, my politics are far left, but I have to be in the reality of American politics, and the Democratic Party of the Roosevelt era is the party I am partial to, and frankly, I am not willing to give it up to the namby pamby Democrats.   I am a lefty who does not foresee a revolution, but yes, I choose incremental improvements to make society more just.  But, I do not believe in capitulation and not standing for the basics of the historical Democratic Party.

I am a partisan as well.  Why?  Simple, elected Democracies without political parties that stand for some things, does not work.  We get this mess we are in.  We can all choose to think we “vote for the man”  but for me, I could never biologically, psychologically or politically vote for a Republican.

I did not buy the “selling of Obama” as transformative and transcending.  Actually, I found all that crap annoying.  I also did not buy the mass hysteria that the Clinton’s are racists, it was all one big media scam to get him elected.  If you are a Progressive and bought the Obama story that he “is the Progressive of all times”, sorry, you are a fool.  The guy always told you what he was going to do, you imagined what he was going to do.  You inferred.  You deluded yourself.  Why?  I don’t know, maybe it was the great old Teddy Kennedy telling us that he was “handing off the Liberal credentials”, maybe it was his age.  I don’t know, whatever it was, I did not see it and therefore I am not surprised.

” But he inspires me with his speeches”  you vapidly repeated to the press and on your Facebook.  Inspires you to do what?  Do you need the personal narrative of others and of public speakers to be inspired?  Inspiration should come from some work you do and actually it is a process of a lifetime.  The droning automatons who were “inspired” never explained their “inspiration”.  The question is what did they do with it and why is Obama the President failing to inspire?  Cause his actions do not fit his words.

Now he is in power and he is proving to be what he said he is.  Look at his editorial interview with the Reno Gazette, he was casual, comfortable and spoke his mind, not some Axelrod manufactured astro turf speak:

I think Ronald Reagan changed the trajectory of America in a way that Richard Nixon did not and in a way that Bill Clinton did not.  He put us on a fundamentally different path because the country was ready for it.  I think they felt like with all the excesses of the 1960s and 1970s and government had grown and grown but there wasn’t much sense of accountability in terms of how it was operating.

If my memory serves me right, the excesses that Reagan was opposing were all the core issues of the Left, Liberals and anyone calling themselves Progressive.  As Matt Stoler said at the time,

Those excesses, of course, were feminism, the consumer rights movement, the civil rights movement, the environmental movement, and the antiwar movement.  The libertarian anti-government ideology of an unaccountable large liberal government was designed by ideological conservatives to take advantage of the backlash against these ‘excesses’.

It is extremely disturbing to hear, not that Obama admires Reagan, but why he does so.  Reagan was not a sunny optimist pushing dynamic entrepreneurship, but a savvy politician using a civil rights backlash to catapult conservatives to power.  Lots

 

Those living in political fairy land told me, “wait till he is elected, his true Progressive inner self will come out, he is saying this now to get elected, get real, be practical”.  Sorry folks, politicians who I vote for never, ever praise Ronald Reagan.  I therefore take the “Sanctimonious Purist” poke as another compliment Mr. President.

Frankly, I never believed he was anything more than what he is now.  I never saw anything in his history as a politician that indicated otherwise.  He always folded.  When he gave the “speech against the war” he was a State Senator, he had nothing to lose.  When it mattered, he voted with everyone else.  When Hillary did not tell you what you wanted to hear, you got mad at her.  Actually, I admired her more and more when she would not tell you her vote was wrong.  Yep, she took the attacks, Obama can’t.

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.